One Week!

In exactly one week, Tara and I will be doing our final packing for our flight to Las Vegas for the Gentlemen’s Club Challenge at Wildhorse. Can you tell we’re counting down the days?

This is going to be my first A-tier event, along with being the first serious disc golf road trip. I am walking the fine line between insanely nervous and incredibly excited as the trip draws closer. There are a couple of thoughts that keep going through my head, and as inane and ridiculous as some of them are, I’m going to share them with you anyways.

I wish Cole was coming with me – I know he has to work, but he has such a wonderful calming influence on me (except when he caddies for me – then I suck). So I guess it’s okay he’s not coming down, but that doesn’t mean I won’t miss him any less.

Do I have the right clothes? – I am having some serious concerns that the TD is going to look at me and go, “yeah, you don’t belong here” and kick me off the course. I’ve gone out and purchased some very Canadian golf clothes, so I am feeling a little better, but am still concerned that I’m not going to feel like me….I’ve already warned Cole that he might come home and find me randomly holding my discs in the middle of the apartment while wearing a polo and golf skort. I need to get acclimatized to the “A-Tier Carolynn” persona I will be inhabiting – it’s like when you put on an outfit in the changing room and you start stretching around to see what everything looks like in all the weird positions you might end up in.  I definitely pretended to throw a couple drives in the changing room of The Bay so I could examine my calf muscles in the mirror…I’m hoping my fabulous softball legs won’t be too much for Nevada and the disc golfing community, especially seeing as I walked into my living room table last night and now have the world’s biggest lump on my left knee…super attractive.

What if I forget the rules? – I’m petrified of doing something wrong and giving up strokes, so it’s safe to say I will be obsessively reviewing all the OB/lie rules this week.

What if I slump??? – I’ve been playing pretty well over the past couple weeks, so naturally I’m petrified that I will end up slumping during the GCC. Ball players know what I’m talking about – you’re seeing the ball like a watermelon and just crushing it, and suddenly you’re whiffing and striking out….I’m trying to breathe deeply right now. I have faith in my skill, but my Robert Burnaby duck golf performance (or lack thereof) is still haunting me…Cole and I broke down some of my mechanics again during some field work on Friday, so I’m feeling better about the backhand day by day, but am starting to worry I need to give the rest of my game some love…I’m going to need to channel some Tay-Tay, STAT!

Other than that, I am just stoked that they posted the caddy books so I can surreptitiously check them out at work this week (I’m totally working, folks! I’m not putting together my packing lists or watching video or anything else DG related…yeah right). I’m freaking out slightly about all the OBs, sand traps, and greens, so I am mentally designing some island work I can do either at the field or at Passive this week to prepare. I’m also trying to go see my friends at Acerunners and the Disc Cellar to grab some back up discs.  My MVP Motion flipped a lot on me this weekend, so I am considering buying a new one just so I am assured I have a Motion with complete, brand new stable-ness. Cole has said on several occasions that it’s good I like 95% of the discs I throw to be brand new. I would tend to agree with that statement!

I’ll be around tons this week – that first A-Tier is around the corner, and I’m excited to share it with you 🙂 Happy Hucking!

2 thoughts on “One Week!

  1. Best of luck!Thanks for sharing. I enjoy the blog. My two cents: I’m sure you will calm down after the first few throws. Sometimes I will play the first few holes super ultra conservatively — just trying to play boring par golf — especially if they aren’t normally birdie holes. I try to forget about birdies. That way I give myself a chance to shake off the nerves and get in the flow before carding any ugly scores or getting mad at myself for missing a birdie put.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! I will definitely be keeping that in mind during the tournament – anything to help keep the “first a-tier jitters” under control!

      Thanks for reading my blog 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment