Helpful Links

Our friends at Mind Body Disc posted a really awesome link the other day to help generate and track putting stats, and my geeky little math-loving heart just about exploded with Excel spreadsheet-using love. I mean, come on – I come from the world of baseball, where statistics are GOD. That’s probably why I have an unhealthy obsession with my PDGA rating, but that’s a problem for another day.

The funny part is, the link was actually a repost, which led me to following DG Puttheads on Twitter, which got me thinking about what other resources have been invaluable to me since I’ve started playing…yes, that was one heck of a train of thought!  However, I want to share them with you, because the information is out there for the taking – might as well use whatever you can to improve your game!

First and foremost: the rules. Every new PDGA member gets the rule book with their initial sign up, however, if you’re like us and carried it in your disc golf bag in the middle of winter, it’s probably destroyed. It’s lovely that the PDGA has put the full rules online for your perusal.  Also, take your Official’s Exam. Not because you necessarily want to run out and take part in a National tour event or become a TD, but just so you can argue the rule interpretations people pull out of their butts.

Flight Analyzer: because sometimes you just want a simple look at flight ratings. It took me forever to start visualizing flight ratings on discs, and I think this would have helped me do it faster if I’d known about it sooner!

ATDG aka All Things Disc Golf. A plethora of wonderful articles, reviews, etc, for all your disc golf reading needs. This is for when you realize how deep the disc golf rabbit hole goes, and you want to do some exploring.

Disc Golf Course Review! I put this link in here because it’s always amazing to me when I discover someone who doesn’t know about this site – this is a must for people wondering where else they can golf when they realize there is life outside their local course…I thank DGCR for helping us discover Thornhill. Life has never been the same…:-)

For when you realize you want more than just your starter pack…because buying discs can be expensive.  Infinite Discs is cheap, has fast shipping, and tons of options. I’m not saying don’t buy from your local distributors, because I love the shit out of my local friends The Disc Cellar and Acerunners. But sometimes those local guys are expensive, and I would have hated to pay full price for my respecti, only for it to languish in my front closet (where it’s been since the day after I received it). I link that disc for your reference because I don’t want you to buy it if you are inclined to believe the review that it’s a “perfect disc for overhand” because it sure as hell is not. Honestly, Cole and I typically buy a ton of cheap stuff from ID, and then once we know what we want, we go to our local guys to stock up. Side note: if you’re an overhand thrower, might I suggest a Champ Firebird? That is my ole faithful – never leave home without it.

The link that made me realize pros are people too. Between Catrina Allen being warned about a foot fault (7:10) and Jessica Weese’s tee-off(s) at the 10 minute mark, you realize that sometimes things aren’t always perfect and it’s ok to not be perfect 24/7.

The sad thing is, I know there are more links I want to suggest, but I can’t think of them right off the top of my head. This post is definitely to be continued…

Happy hucking!

 

Leave a comment