Summer, Summer, Summertime

Oh man. I felt really bad for not blogging for a little while, but then I realized I had this same lag last year, so…blame it on the summer? 

First things first- I cannot say enough wonderful things about Lake Stevens and the wonderful people I met down there at Aquafest a couple weeks back. Even though the baskets, well, aren’t really baskets, I would totally go back!! Well run tournament, great people…just one of the most enjoyable days of golf I’ve ever had! Legitimately the friendliest golfers I’ve ever met.

Lake Stevens “baskets”

Highlight of Aquafest: 18th hole, 1st round. Our card of BC ladies had to shoot a 350′ hyzer line, with the possibility of hitting tournament central. And of course, it’s the end of the first round, so everyone’s walking through our fairway…so we start yelling “heads up” and suddenly we have a gallery of about 40 people for our drives. 

So, if you’ve read this blog, you know how I feel about my backhand. And that was legitimately my only choice for this shot. My only mental salvation was that I was not driving 1st.

Tara walks up, manages to pull out a magical forehand. Jenne walks up, kills her backhand. And then it’s my turn. I walked up to the teepad, trying not to shit myself.

I honestly don’t think I’ve ever thought about a shot more in my life. Right disc? Is that a headwind? Tailwind? Do I have a wedgie? But I finally let my GStar thunderbird rip, and BOOM, 50 feet out from the pin 🙂

As we walked down the fairway, a guy asked us if we were “the Canadian national team”. Why yes, yes we are 👍🏻🇨🇦


My next big disc golf event was a work social outing, in which I taught my coworkers how to play! I think I’ve got a couple diamonds in the rough here at the office….now to drag them out again 😉

Geez, almost skipped right over this! Cole and I defended our Randy White title, taking home 1st in intermediate for the second year in a row. This year, it all came down to 8 playoff holes of the beigest golf we’ve ever seen. Kasia and Jeremy were worthy opponents, and I would not have wanted to go through that much playoff golf with anyone else!

post-playoff selfie

Tonight Cole and I head down to Bremerton, where I’ll be playing in the West Sound Championships tomorrow. I’ve never play Bud Pell park, so I am pumped! Plus, there are like 8 women in the tourny, so I get the full chase experience, along with getting to play with Lisa again! (My new friend from the Ferntucky tournament in May). 

Other than that, make sure to check out/support the #MoreWomensDiscGolfers hashtag on Twitter…check out the Brent Hambrick footage online…and yeah…I’m going to go back to being vaguely distracted at work because I’m mentally preparing for the tournament 😀 

Happy Hucking!!

Leave a comment